Maya Fit Girl

Dream big…then do it BIGGER!

4 Ways to Boost Your Energy September 2, 2014

201205-orig-sleepy-hires-949x534

(As contributed on http://www.ThisFitsMe.com on 7.29.14)

I don’t know about you, but there are some days when I feel like my energy levels have reached the lowest of the low.  These are times when I re-evaluate my day-to-day and try to find those things that may be my biggest energy drainers.

Here are the top 4 things that take up most of my energy!

1. No Skipping Allowed

We all know that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, but sometimes we forget that fact.  Eating breakfast is like filling up your gas tank.  You can’t run all day when you start with no fuel, so begin your day with a healthy, hearty breakfast.  My favorite is oatmeal (not in the packets) with sliced bananas on top to give it a little sweetness and a couple of slices of whole wheat toast with an all-natural peanut butter spread.

This packs enough fiber, carbs, protein, and natural sugar to start your day off with the energy you need.

2. Just Say No

Generally, as women, we find it hard to say “no” to or decline an invitation to something we kind of don’t want to go to or have time for, but we do it anyway just to be polite.

I have started to change my response to things like that.  When asked to do something I may not have time for, I just say, “Let me check my schedule and I’ll get back to you.” Or if I already know I won’t be able to do it, I give a polite, “No, I won’t be able to attend.”

It’s your time, you are in control of it.

3. Eat Right

Stick to a healthy meal plan. Don’t be tempted by those foods that fill you up and energize you temporarily, but then leave you feeling hungry and tired a few minutes later.  Eat foods that give you real, lasting energy. Foods like lean meats, green vegetables, beans, fresh fruits…you know, natural, non chemically processed foods. Chemically processed foods are generally low in fiber and high in sugar. Did you know it takes more energy to burn processed foods, which can lead to decrease levels of energy?

Bottom line, eat real food to get real energy.

4. Get Your Sleep

The most important thing you can do, besides eating healthy, is to get the proper amount of rest.  Most people need at least seven hours of sleep, but I need about nine hours in order to wake up energized.  Sleep restores your mind, body and spirit.

Having that time to re-energize helps you function better throughout your day.  If you can’t get enough sleep at night, try to get a nap in during your lunch break or at home while the baby is sleeping (Don’t worry, you can do the laundry later!) and BONUS…being well rested aids in fat loss.

In other words, get some sleep!

“If you do not take care of yourself, you will not be strong enough to take care of anything in your life.” – Leon Brown

 

Be sure to sign up for the Fit Girl by Maya newsletter and be the first to get FREE workouts, recipes, promos and more!

 

*Photo credit by http://www.oprah.com

 

All comments are welcome! Leaving your name and email is optional, not required. Please enter here...

