Maya Fit Girl

Dream big…then do it BIGGER!

Transformation Tuesday…Um, Sunday March 16, 2014

I recently shared my story of transformation with my training coach and thought I’d share with you, as well. I’ll keep it short and sweet.

When I first decided to start training for fitness competitions, it wasn’t for the reasons that most have. I didn’t need to lose weight, I was not an over-eater, and I looked healthy. I had what I called “default muscles.” Default muscles are the muscles that I just happened to have had simply because I had no fat to cover them.  Those are the same muscles that made me think that nothing was wrong and that I was perfectly healthy.  Unfortunately, the opposite was true- I needed to gain weight, I only ate about two times a day (lack of appetite), and I was so unhealthy that I couldn’t even qualify for life insurance.

vegas

Despite being an athlete from elementary school through college, my workout routines didn’t balance with my diet. No one ever taught me the importance of eating right, as it related to athletes, and how to do it.  I didn’t know that eating a significant amount of protein, along with taking the right supplements, and getting in the habit of eating at least five times per day were key in gaining muscle mass and getting healthy.

So, I knew I had to make a change, but I knew I wouldn’t be able to do it by myself. I found a competition coach that was able to help me go from 119 pounds to 125 pounds in three months. I placed 9th in my first competition and wanted more. I loved the feeling that competing gave me, both onstage and off.

Shredder Apr13

Two months after placing 9th, I found Team Bombshell and liked what I saw/read. I saw a group of ladies from all across the world, working together for the same goal- to uplift, empower and motivate each other to be the best they can be. I wanted to be a part of this–plus I could get that awesome Bombshell Booty they are so famous for, in the process!

2014-02-14 20.26.34

After five months of training hard, I placed 5th in my second competition and qualified to go to Nationals this July. I can say that after nine months of training with Team Bombshell and fifteen months of competition training, I am the most healthiest and happiest I have ever been.

JAP-3784-2

At 35 years old and 129 pounds now, I am proud to be a Bombshell and know that training has absolutely saved my life! Getting honest with myself has really  paved the way to a more fit life.

What is stopping you from reaching your personal best?

What changes have you made to daily life to help you become a better person?

 

All comments are welcome! Leaving your name and email is optional, not required. Please enter here...

