Maya Fit Girl

Dream big…then do it BIGGER!

Tasty Thursday- Cheat Meal Options February 6, 2014

Currently, I am on a special meal plan that changes every four weeks.  It is very specific to my weight and fitness goals.  Because I am training for two upcoming fitness competitions, one being a Nationals event, I have to really stick to my meal plan in order to achieve the physique needed for me to place and/or win.  So, a cheat meal for me may look like a regular meal for you.

My coach has allowed me to have one cheat meal (not cheat day) per week, preferably on Saturdays.  Most of the time I take advantage of this luxury and try to stick to the cheat meal options that are given to me.  But if I had my way, I’d like to have the below scrumptious coconut shrimp I found on my new fave blog, So Small So Strong  and also have a side of homemade sweet potato fries I found on Muffin Topless’ website.dsc_1917

Recipe: Makes 2 servings

Preheat your over to 450 °F and line a baking sheet with foil. Be sure to coat with nonstick cooking spray.

20 – medium sized shrimp

1/4 cup coconut flour  + 1/4 cup all purpose flour – Mixed together in a shallow bowl or plate  (*you can also use just AP)

1 egg +1 egg white – Beaten into a bowl

1/2 cup Panko bread crumbs + 1/4 unsweetened coconut and 1 + 1/2 TB – xylitol or sugar substitute – Combine in shallow bowl or plate

1/4 teaspoon salt + 1/4 teaspoon black pepper – Add to Panko Mixture

Take your 3 bowls/plates and prepare the DIPPING STATION! Take each shrimp and first coat in flour mixture. Next dip coated shrimp into egg and finally gently coat both sides with panko breading. Lay flat on your baking sheet and look at how adorable they are!

My little secret is that I use my toaster oven instead of my big oven. I do this with a bunch of recipes, especially when cooking just for 2. Pop these shrimp into the oven for about 12- 15 minutes until pink and crispy. I love using the broil setting for the last 3 minutes to get some extra color. But that’s totally up to you.

Let the shrimp cool for about 5 minutes. Remove from baking sheet and ENJOY!

I served it up with some Walden Farms Sesame Ginger Dressing, mixed with just a bit of honey. You can purchase Thai Chili sauce or any dipping sauce you like!

And now for the fries!!

1560500_10152218491587049_1845180632_n

INGREDIENTS:

2 Large Yams

1/4 Cup Liquid Egg Whites (or 2 Egg Whites)

1 Tsp Chili Powder

1 Tsp Garlic Powder

1 Tsp Oregano

1 Tsp Ground Cumin

1 Tsp Sea Salt

1/2 Tsp Cayenne Pepper

1/2 Tsp Ground Black Pepper

 DIRECTIONS:

Pre-Heat oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit. Chop yams or sweet potatoes into classic French fry shapes. Try to keep them an even thickness or they won’t cook properly (i.e. make sure some aren’t super thick while others are slender).

Mix spices in a small bowl. Put uncooked yam/sweet potato into a large bowl and add the egg whites. Toss the yam/sweet potato until it is coated in egg white.

Next, sprinkle the mixed spices on top and toss until all fries are lightly coated with spices.

Spray a cookie sheet with nonstick spray and spread the fries out evenly. Bake for about 20 minutes (keep an eye on them so you don’t over bake).

Flip the fries and bake for an additional 15 minutes or until they reach a desired consistency (less time = softer fries, more time = crispier fries). If you like them really crispy, turn your oven to broil for a few minutes after the full 35 minute cook time is up.

Keep an eye on them though so they don’t burn! Serve warm and enjoy!

As an added bonus to make these two dishes complete, I would make my own dipping sauce for my sweet potato fries. I combine a pat of melted butter, 1 tbs of brown sugar and a swirl of honey in a small sauce bowl. This make for a sweet a delicious dip for those tasty potato sticks 🙂  To have ketchup with these would be a crime, if you ask me.

What are some of your favorite cheat meals? Please share.

Follow me on Twitter @maya_fitgirl

Follow @maya_fitgirl

 

All comments are welcome! Leaving your name and email is optional, not required. Please enter here...

