Maya Fit Girl

Dream big…then do it BIGGER!

One Less Excuse January 3, 2014

With the new year in full swing, most of us have promised ourselves that we would get fit for 2014.  If this lifestyle is relatively new or rekindled, sometimes even the smallest things can become an excuse to fall off the fit wagon. We must do all that we can to stay on task and stay true to our resolutions.

As a follow up to the Quick Tip Tuesday post this week, I thought I’d share with you how I prepare for my gym week. This only takes about five minutes out of my day on Saturday or Sunday and is done much like how I prepare for my work week. Those five minutes of prep can be what determines whether or not you go to the gym. Let me explain…

Usually, the average person, especially women (sorry, fellas), who goes to the gym (especially someone with a full-  time job) is faced with many obstacles and potential excuses as to why they decide not to go to the gym. Whether it’s after work exhaustion, spending time with kids, household responsibilities, alleged lack of time, nothing to wear… the list goes on. But with proper preparation, there will be little to no excuses left.

 

My gym schedule requires me to go Monday through Friday after work, which is easier said than done. Here is an example of my after work schedule:

3:30 p.m.- Work day endsTired mom

5:00 p.m.- Pick up son from YMCA

5:20 p.m.- Arrive home/Eat Meal #5

5:30 p.m.- Check both kids’ homework

6:30 p.m.- Wash a load of laundry

6:35 p.m.- Start dinner/Clean some area of the house

7:15 p.m.- Eat Meal #6/Head to gym

9:15 p.m.- Return home

9:30 p.m.- Eat Meal #7

As you can see, there is lots of room for excuses. As many times as I feel like heading straight for my bed after making dinner (every once in a while it happens), I must keep a promise to myself to stay on course, reach my short-term goal of being ready for Nationals in July, and to not start the snowball effect of putting the gym off to the next day. We all know that next day ends up being two months or more and I can’t afford to do that to myself.

So, every Saturday or Sunday (my off days), I put together what I will wear to the gym for the next week- the tops, bottoms, and socks. Having these things already put together is one less thing I have to add to the aforementioned evening list of things to do. All I have to do is change out of my work clothes and into my gym clothes without any extra thought or effort.

2013-12-27 18.15.36

Couch

This also works if you go to the gym directly after work. Prepare your gym clothes on the weekend and just throw one outfit in your gym bag every night or morning, including gym shoes. Make sure you put your bag in your back seat or else you will have to stop home first, which gives you a reason to sit on the couch “for just a few minutes,” which we all know ends up being for the rest of the night!

This has made life so much easier for myself and the hubs. It has pretty much eliminated the, “Honey, where’s my [fill in random gym attire]!” conversation every night.

Stay tuned for my next post on how to pack a “grab and go” gym bag.

“By failing to prepare, you are preparing to fail.”- Benjamin Franklin

What is something you do to help make your trip to the gym easier?


Follow me on Twitter @maya_fitgirl

Follow @maya_fitgirl

*Cartoon graphics courtesy of http://www.gymmomentum.com and http://www.joemartinfitness.com

 

One Response to “One Less Excuse”

  1. […] to my previous post (here) on getting your weekly exercise gear ready ahead of time […]


All comments are welcome! Leaving your name and email is optional, not required. Please enter here...

