Maya Fit Girl

Dream big…then do it BIGGER!

Quick Tip Tuesday- Sock It To Me December 31, 2013

Over the weekend I finally decided to flip my closet- pack away my summer clothes in the upstairs closet and bring down the winter clothes from the upstairs closet.  While doing this, it prompted me to reorganized a few other areas within my closet. The first being my sock trunk (not a typo, I have a sock trunk).

Anyone who knows me knows that I always wear my crazy socks to the gym, but lately I have been having a really hard time finding matches. We’ve all been there, we search high and low for that sock that seems to never turn up. We keep buying pack after pack of socks wondering where they all disappear to after about two months. Well, I got really tired of it, so I decided to do something about it.

First, I found two plastic shoe boxes (like the one below) and set them to the side.

2013-12-26 18.18.43

Then, I gathered all of my paired socks and put them in a pile.

2013-12-26 18.19.41

After that, I put all of the socks that did not have a match into another pile (Geez! This is way too high!).

2013-12-26 18.19.48

I also put all of my hosiery in a separate pile (I really need to start wearing these more!).

2013-12-26 18.21.41

Then, the fun began!

I went through the non-match pile and commenced to find the matches within the pile (below left) and re-organized my hosiery and put the unopened items in another plastic shoe box (below middle).

2013-12-26 18.44.202013-12-26 18.47.332013-12-26 18.45.27

 

The remaining non-matches go into the plastic shoe box (above right). I will then match up the mismates after every load I wash that also comes up with a mismatch. The box stays in the trunk (as shown below) until all matches are made. If after two months, the same non-matches are still in the box, I will toss those socks or wear similar socks together around the house.

2013-12-27 19.34.09

This can also work with a regular sock drawer. Just make sure the box that you use for mismates can fit in the drawer. If you put the mismates box anywhere other than the drawer, the less likely you are to try to find the mates because it will not be a convenient task the moment  you are putting your socks away after you wash.

Because I like to have my socks match my gym attire, this has absolutely shaved about ten minutes off of my prep time. This little bit of organization may seem trivial and unnecessary, but just wait until you need that matching sock for work, the gym, or going out on the weekend. You will already have your matches together and know which ones still have no mate. Time saver!

Stay tuned for my next post to find out how I prep for my gym week.

By the way, in case you’re wondering, yes I have a slight case of OCD as described in a previous post here. I have calmed down a bit and have focused all of my OCD tendencies to my closet, work and fitness prep.

“Success depends upon previous preparation, and without such preparation there is sure to be failure.”- Confucius
What are some timesavers you have for preparing for your workout?

Follow me on Twitter @maya_fitgirl
Follow @maya_fitgirl

 

All comments are welcome! Leaving your name and email is optional, not required. Please enter here...

