Maya Fit Girl

Dream big…then do it BIGGER!

Back to School…Not Gon’ Cry! August 22, 2012

For the first time in seven years, I will have a child experiencing the first day of Kindergarten very soon.  Every year about this time, I hear or read about moms who are so sad or cry their eyes out when they let go of their little one’s tiny little hand and cast them into the sea of five and six year olds to embark on their first real journey into elementary school.  They grieve for weeks. They slip into a mild depression. They think about them all day almost regretting their decision to allow them to go to Kindergarten. “Maybe I should have waited a year,” they think. “Maybe little Billy is not ready for school,” they ponder.

You know what I’m thinking, “NO MORE DAY CARE FEES!” I am so elated! I had been countinng down the years, months, weeks, days, hours, minutes, seconds until I would make my last payment! Oh joy, oh rapture! I no longer have to pay what could be comparable to a rent payment every month.  I am grateful for all that his Montessori school taught him and all of the wonderful children my son befriended, but I am now enjoying the fact that we will have some extra cash every month.

Don’t get me wrong, I care that my little boy is growing up and moving on to the “big school” as he calls it, but I am not sad. I am happy for him.  He will get to experience new friends, new teachers, learn new things, and actually feel like the big boy that he is.  He is totally excited and has been waiting for this moment since he turned four and a half! He can’t wait to go to the “big school” and wear “work clothes” (uniform) everyday. He talks to me everyday about what his classroom will look like and the ties he wants to wear.  He loves to go through all of his new school supplies packing and unpacking them in his new big boy back pack.

To prepare for his big day, I have taken the day off and plan to walk him into school just in case he gets a little intimidated by all of the children being dropped off in the carpool line.  I want him to feel at ease and not confused and overwhelmed on his first day.  As we walk to his classroom, I will explain to him where we are going and what we will do when we get there.  We will unload his back pack and hang it up in his cubby.  I will assure him that I love him, tell him what a big boy he is, and to not be afraid.  At that point, I will turn him over to his new teacher and allow him to enjoy his day without me, just as he had at his previous school.  Except this really counts and is the start of his academic career.

Am I a bad mother because I am not crying my eyes out because my son is getting older and going to elementary school? I don’t think so.  I am also not insinuating that those mothers who are sad are being ridiculously over emotional.  I sometimes feel bad that I am not feeling super sad. I’m just saying, we all have our way of coping and mine will be all the way to the bank!

What are you doing to prepare for your kids’ first day of school?

 

All comments are welcome! Leaving your name and email is optional, not required. Please enter here...

