Maya Fit Girl

Dream big…then do it BIGGER!

Supposed Wrong January 24, 2012

I recently had a discussion with a group of people who were talking about all of the things they had been told they were “supposed” to be doing with their lives.

I dont know about you, but I was told, from a very early age that I was “supposed” to go to college in order to be successful in life. So, I walked around for twenty two years with the idea that if I didn’t graduate high school, get into college, and graduate, I would be a failure. I would be jobless, broke, and probably homeless. This must’ve been some type of propaganda for Generation  X because I wasn’t the only one who had this notion ingrained in my brain at an early age.

Needless to say, college isn’t always the answer to success. Just ask the people in the unemployment line who have a Bachelor’s, Master’s, or Doctoral degree if they think all of their years of schooling has paid off. Or ask all of those college drop-outs who run successful companies or who are super happy with their lives, sans degree.

I learned pretty quickly, all of those fabulous jobs that were “supposed” to be awaiting me the Monday after graduation, were  nothing but a dream. Lets just say, it took ten years to get into the field I studied in college and about $35,000 in student loans. 

Don’t get me wrong, education is important, but it shouldn’t be the only key to what is “supposed” to unlock your life’s success. Instead, maybe travelling abroad, learning new cultures, and  gaining awesome experiences will help to propel you where you’re “supposed” to be.

Most people are told that you are “supposed” to get married, have kids, and buy a home. So, you go through life with that in mind without really wanting it. You want to attain all of it because that is what you are “supposed” to do. But, what if what you actually want is to remain single, adopt five kids, and live in an apartment?

Sometimes I think we get so busy trying to do what our parents said we are “supposed” to do, we never really took the time to figure out what it is we really want to do with our lives. 

Maybe if we were told that not only are all of those things we are “supposed” to do good, but that there are alternatives and those are good too, there would be so many less confused people in the world still trying to figure it all out at forty.

 

2 Responses to “Supposed Wrong”

  1. […] is what my previous post was about and this, as well, is some sort of a personal response to sassymommy14′s blog regarding of what we’re ” ‘supposed’ to be doing with our lives”. I […]

  2. […] is what my previous post was about and this, as well, is some sort of a personal response to sassymommy14′s blog regarding of what we’re ” ‘supposed’ to be doing with our lives”. I […]


All comments are welcome! Leaving your name and email is optional, not required. Please enter here...

