Maya Fit Girl

Dream big…then do it BIGGER!

Not Gonna Do It In 2012 January 10, 2012

Filed under: Family,Life,Woman — Maya Fit Girl @ 10:03 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

When embarking on a new health and fitness plan, one must come to the realization that there will be a few things in which one must cease indulging. At the start of implementing this new plan, I went through a sort of trial period where I would test my will in resisting those unhealthy, yet yummy goodies. I wanted to see if I could really do it. If I could abstain from the deliciously naughty goodies and replace them with either positive thoughts or a carrot stick or two, I would be able to make it through the first stage of my lifestyle change.

So, I have decided to give up the following things for 2012 and beyond:

  1. All fried foods, especially those golden delicious French fries from both McDonald’s and Wendy’s. How could one truly resist that salty,crunchy exterior with its soft and warm insides that when dipped in smooth ketchup-y goodness, creates an explosion of taste that has you yearning for more and more! Obviously, that’s gonna be a hard one…
  2. Non-minty candy, which includes my “weakness trinity” of Starburst, Sour Skittles, and Twizzlers. Man, how I will miss their sweet, sweet blast of pseudo-fruity flavor as it hits my ever-awaiting tongue! But, I will have to keep the mints in my fast-decreasing list of candies so as to not offend anyone when the time presents itself.
  3. Canned goods have made their way off my list, as well. Although convenient and affordable, I cannot consume something that is meant to last for an infinite amount of time. There is something a little too precarious about beans that have been sitting in a thick syrupy substance for who knows how long. Or peach halves that have been marinating in pear juice for 10 years. Have you ever left a cup of juice on the counter for more than 10 hours? It starts smelling like fermenting wine!
  4. Milk! Unfortunately, in my old age, I have become…or should I say, my stomach has become very uncomfortable when milk comes around. Oh, how I will miss its silky, creaminess as it envelopes each little brown flake in my favorite bowl. Milk has now been replaced with almond soy milk.

Last, but not least…

5. No more Golden Oreos! I still remember the first time I saw the commercial for these little tasty treats. I felt like the heavens had parted and the sun was shining down on only me. The regular Oreos weren’t that good to me, so I would always buy those cheap vanilla sandwich cookies to quell my cookie craving. But no more!! I could finally delight in the tasty goodness that is the Golden Oreo. All my dreams had come true in that one moment of television viewing. Alas, the dream is over. I will now have to find a replacement for my sweet delicacy.

I know that changing eating habits can be a difficult thing, but if I keep in mind that I am doing it all to live a long, salubrious life it will help put it all into perspective.

I can do it!

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Not Gonna Do It In 2012”

  1. If you really want to you can do it girl!! Best of luck!!! Healthy is the only way to go! 🙂


All comments are welcome! Leaving your name and email is optional, not required. Please enter here...

