Maya Fit Girl

Dream big…then do it BIGGER!

Let’s Go Roller Skating! October 12, 2011

Filed under: Family Time,Kids,Life,Love,Recreation,Uncategorized,Woman — Maya Fit Girl @ 8:16 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Last Thursday was my birthday and the hubs threw me a wonderful surprise party! But I wanted to continue the celebration by doing something I hadn’t done in a long time.  I decided to go old school and invite some friends to join me at the roller rink!  I haven’t been skating in about nine years, but I remembered how much fun it was.

Back in the 80s, my mom used to take me roller skating every Saturday.  So, I couldn’t wait to relive those old memories.  As soon as I walked into the door of the rink, I was transported back to 1985.  I could smell that old, moldy carpet…the aroma of 30 years of popped popcorn…the dimmed fluorescent lights and disco ball in the middle of the roller rink.  I remember watching that one guy who knew all the skate tricks and wishing I could do the same.  Or that girl who could skate backwards as if floating through the air.  I couldn’t wait to get on that high-glossed hardwood floor, turn that corner and feel that cool breeze flowing through my hair.

As I turned in my ticket to retrieve my used, white roller skates that, I’m sure, were a bit overdue for replacement, that feeling hit me.  That excitement of skating around in an oblong circle for 3 or more hours, grooving to the old 70s and 80s tunes.  in 2011, few things have changed since 1985, music of that era had been replaced with Justin Bieber, Ke$ha, Lil’ Jon and a few others. But they did sprinkle some old school hits that I love to jam to, like Vanilla Ice, George Michael, and the Funkadelics.  My friends and I even had fun doing the Cupid Shuffle, the Hokey Pokey, and the Funky Chicken! How did I used to do this when I was little? Man, was I tired and the whole 3 hours wasn’t even over yet!

I am so happy that my 2 boys had the opportunity to partake in the fun.  They were able to break free of their digital chains of video games, internet, and cell phones.  They had so much fun! Even my 4-year old wouldn’t give up trying to skate in his tiny little skates- tiny compared to my big size 10s! Although reluctant to come, the hubs thoroughly enjoyed himself.  I appreciated my friends coming and hope to make plans soon to do it again. Fun times!

Til next time…Excuse me while I continue with my week-long hot bath soak because my body is still sore! Whew… I’m getting old!

 

One Response to “Let’s Go Roller Skating!”

  1. I miss your blog posts….
    JRW


All comments are welcome! Leaving your name and email is optional, not required. Please enter here...

