Maya Fit Girl

Dream big…then do it BIGGER!

Mental Breakdown September 4, 2011

Today marks the end of the second week of grad school.  I feel like I have taken on way too much. Not too much to give up, but enough to feel like my brain will surely explode if I don’t hurry up and get through this semester.

I guess it’s actually this huge assignment that’s due that I had plenty of time to do a week ago, but of course, life happened and here I am a week later and have only half completed it. I have one more week to read and write summaries on 12 journal articles. At first, it sounds easy enough. I can read a 200+ page book in 1 day, so why can’t I read 12, 20 page articles in 2 weeks? I’ll tell you why, because they are extraordinarily boring articles. Articles are not the word I would use to describe these horrendously long, drawn out documents!  These articles are actually condensed research papers written by university professors, doctoral students, or maybe even a graduate student or two. I am sure you can appreciate the label I have appropriately given the documents. Boring. But I have no other options, I must read them, if I want to pass the class.

I consider myself a pretty intelligent person, but I feel myself getting lost in the technical jargon, unnecessarily big words, and the utter monotony.  Maybe it’s the exhaustion of the week or the anxiety building up as I get closer and closer to the due date. So today, I had to throw in the towel. I allowed the assignment to defeat me, but just for today.  I will start again, first thing in the morning, and attempt to knock it all out. I want to put this behind me and concentrate on what’s to come.

My sweet husband straightened up and rearranged our home office to ensure that, going forward, I have a place to study in peace and quiet.  This is quite a contrast to my previous work area, a room upstairs with my laptop, doing just that- sitting on top of my lap, burning the crap out of my thighs, by the way.  “Keeping Up With the Kardashians” will no longer be the background noise to which I study .  It will just be me, my laptop (actually on a desk), and a quiet workspace…and maybe my cat Smokey.  

Next up, 20 page research paper…woo hoo!

Help me little sweet baby Jesus!

 

All comments are welcome! Leaving your name and email is optional, not required. Please enter here...

